CII Awards

International Investigator of the Year Award

At the Council's Annual Meeting held in Edinburgh, Scotland in October, 1976, the President of The Association of British Investigators at the time, Zena Scott Archer, personally delivered a silver loving cup to the Council with the request by the A.B.I. that it be presented each year to a Council member who best exemplifies the high professional and moral standards of the Council.

Each year at the Annual General Meeting, a Certified Member of the Council of International Investigators is honored as the "International Investigator of the Year". Nominations may be made by any person during the year and election is by a majority vote taken during the annual general meeting, after the reading of the nominations and supporting documentation.

Since the recipient must surrender the trophy at the end of a year, another award was initiated to remain the personal possession of each annual recipient. This award is known as the "Keith Rogers Memorial Plaque". It honors one of the respected original founders of our Council, Keith M. Rogers, now deceased.

The Council will be forever grateful to The Association of British Investigators for what has become an extremely proud tradition in our Council.

Malcolm W. Thomson, C.I.I. Memorial Award

In February, 1994, the Council of International Investigators lost one of its best friends and honorable members. Malcolm Watson Thomson, of Edinburgh, Scotland was a very active member in C.I.I. and held the distinguished position of Executive Regional Director when he passed away.

At the Mid-Year Meeting in 1994, the Council decided to pay tribute to Malcolm by establishing an award to honor the Regional Director who best represented his ideals and high professional moral standards. The recipient, who is chosen by a committee, would also be a person who best exemplifies the membership and the Strategic Plan goals of the Council.

The award shall be known as the Malcolm W. Thomson, C.I.I. Memorial Award. The award will consist of a medallion to be presented to the recipient at the Annual General Meeting.

Meritorious Service Award (MSA)

The Meritorious Service Award (MSA) honors meritorious service to the Council of International Investigators, to the security and/or investigative industry, or to the community in general, by a member of the Council. The MSA Award may be given annually to any member of the Council in order to recognize outstanding achievement and/or contribution.

The first Council MSA award was presented in 2002, posthumously to Robert M. Peterson who served the Council tirelessly in many ways and  is credited with always reminding the Council to be "An Organization of Laws and Not of Men."

List of all CII award winners